Being involved in a bus accident can be a traumatic experience. If you suffer injuries you may have to face expensive medical bills, salary losses, damages, and pain and suffering. Understanding your options in a bus accident can help you rightfully claim the compensation you deserve.
Understanding the Statute of Limitations
Every state has its own statute of limitations that apply to all the lawsuits. This statute prescribes a time frame within which you must file a claim. The statute of limitations can be different depending on if it is a personal injury case or a criminal case. Based on crucial information provided by the bus accident lawyers at Salamati Law in Los Angeles, the state of California has a very specific period of time for which you can file an accident claim. And that statute of limitations starts from the day the accident took place.
This applies to any personal injury claims and cases of negligence in a bus accident. If the accident involved a bus run by the city, state or county then in such cases you have only 6 months. If the California statute of limitations has expired before you file the claim, you may be facing grave consequences. The defendant can file a motion to dismiss your claims in such cases. It is suggested to file a claim immediately if you have been involved in a bus accident.
Filing a lawsuit against public entities
If you are filing a lawsuit against the city, state or, county you have to complete additional steps. You are first required to submit a form to the government entity in order to be eligible to pursue any further legal action. This form should be submitted within six months from the time the accident took place. It is critical to understand that anything you mention on this form can be used against you in the court of law.
If you submit an incomplete form or if you do not submit the form within the deadline, you may lose your chance to receive compensation. If you have suffered serious injuries, you may be able to file for a claim even if the period has expired. But there is no guarantee that your claim will be accepted. As there are high stakes involved which can affect your compensation amount and financial future, it is always recommended to get in touch with an experienced bus accident attorney.
How can a bus accident lawyer assist you?
Most buses operating the California region belong to public entities and you have a limited time frame of only 6 months to file for such claims. If you or your loved one have been a victim of a bus accident in the state of California, it is important to contact a personal injury lawyer immediately and understand your legal options. Lawsuits may take time to investigate as you need to collect evidence, testimonies and it may take longer durations to determine the at fault parties in complicated accidents. Hence, it is best to get help from a knowledgeable and experienced attorney who can file a legal claim on your behalf and negotiate insurance settlements.